Willkommen, schön sind Sie da!
Logo Ex Libris

How Should a Person Be?

  • Kartonierter Einband
  • 306 Seiten
(0) Erste Bewertung abgeben
Bewertungen
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Alle Bewertungen ansehen
Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2013 Sheila's twenties were going to plan. She got married.She hosted parties.A theat... Weiterlesen
CHF 18.50
Auslieferung erfolgt in der Regel innert 4 bis 5 Werktagen.

Beschreibung

Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2013 Sheila's twenties were going to plan. She got married.She hosted parties.A theatre asked her to write a play. Then she realised that she didn't know how to write a play. That her favourite part of the party was cleaning up after the party. And that her marriage made her feel like she was banging into a brick wall. So Sheila abandons her marriage and her play, befriends Margaux, a free and untortured painter, and begins sleeping with the dominating Israel, who's a genius at sex but not at art. She throws herself into recording them and everyone around her, investigating how they live, desperate to know, as she wanders, How Should a Person Be? Using transcripts, real emails, plus heavy doses of fiction, Heti crafts an exciting, courageous, and mordantly funny tour through one woman's heart and mind.

Vorwort
A raw, startling, genre-defying novel of friendship, sex, and love in the new millennium. Perfect for fans of Jennifer Egan, Joan Didion, Melissa Banks, and Leanne Shapton.

Autorentext
Sheila Heti is the author of several books of fiction, including The Middle Stories and Ticknor, and a book of "conversational philosophy" called The Chairs Are Where the People Go, written with Misha Glouberman, which was chosen by The New Yorker as a best book of 2011. Her writing has appeared in The New York Times, Bookforum, McSweeney's, n+1, The Guardian, and other places. She lives in Toronto.

Klappentext

Paperback edition of Heti's highly autobiographical novel, which was longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2013. With appeal to fans of Jennifer Egan, Melissa Banks and Miranda July.



Zusammenfassung
Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2013

Sheila's twenties were going to plan.

She got married.
She hosted parties.
A theatre asked her to write a play.

Then she realised that she didn't know how to write a play.
That her favourite part of the party was cleaning up after the party.
And that her marriage made her feel like she was banging into a brick wall.

So Sheila abandons her marriage and her play, befriends Margaux, a free and untortured painter, and begins sleeping with the dominating Israel, who's a genius at sex but not at art. She throws herself into recording them and everyone around her, investigating how they live, desperate to know, as she wanders, How Should a Person Be?

Using transcripts, real emails, plus heavy doses of fiction, Heti crafts an exciting, courageous, and mordantly funny tour through one woman's heart and mind.

Produktinformationen

Titel: How Should a Person Be?
Autor:
EAN: 9780099583561
ISBN: 0099583569
Format: Kartonierter Einband
Genre: Romane & Erzählungen
Anzahl Seiten: 306
Gewicht: 235g
Größe: H198mm x B130mm x T30mm
Veröffentlichung: 01.03.2014
Jahr: 2014
Land: GB