Willkommen, schön sind Sie da!
Logo Ex Libris

Pertussis Infection and Vaccines

  • E-Book (pdf)
  • 170 Seiten
(0) Erste Bewertung abgeben
Bewertungen
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Alle Bewertungen ansehen
This book provides a comprehensive overview of pertussis - also known as whooping cough. The first part discusses the evolution t... Weiterlesen
E-Books ganz einfach mit der kostenlosen Ex Libris-Reader-App lesen. Hiererhalten Sie Ihren Download-Link.
CHF 130.90
Download steht sofort bereit
Informationen zu E-Books
E-Books eignen sich auch für mobile Geräte (sehen Sie dazu die Anleitungen).
E-Books von Ex Libris sind mit Adobe DRM kopiergeschützt: Erfahren Sie mehr.
Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.
Bestellung & Lieferung in eine Filiale möglich

Beschreibung

This book provides a comprehensive overview of pertussis - also known as whooping cough. The first part discusses the evolution the genus Bordetellae and the molecular epidemiology of B. pertussis, while the following chapters focus on the role of B. pertussis virulence factors in infection and disease and on the mechanisms of the immune response to infection and vaccination. The book also explores the prevention and control of the disease as well as its clinical management, with the finally section addressing vaccination, from improved immunization strategies to novel vaccines.

Pertussis remains one of the most poorly controlled vaccine-preventable diseases around the globe. Universal vaccination has dramatically reduced its incidence but has failed to bring it completely under control. In recent decades, changes in pertussis epidemiology have been noted, likely related to the use of acellular pertussis vaccines, which in many countries have replaced older-generation, whole-cell pertussis vaccines. Several years after their introduction, it is becoming apparent that immunity conferred by acellular vaccines wanes more rapidly than expected. Unlike whole-cell vaccines, acellular vaccines, while protecting against the disease, do not seem to prevent colonization and transmission. Increasing incidence among adolescents and adults makes them a reservoir for transmission to unimmunized infants, who in turn are at risk of severe disease and death.

This book is a valuable resource for researchers and clinicians in the field of medical microbiology, vaccine research and infectious diseases.



Autorentext

Dr. Giorgio Fedele

Istituto Superiore di Sanità

Roma, Italy

Email : giorgio.fedele@iss.it

Dr. Clara Maria Ausiello

Roma, Italy

Email : clara.ausiello@gmail.com



Inhalt

1. Evolution of the genus Bordetellae
Corresponding author: Andrew Preston Email : A.Preston@bath.ac.uk
2. Molecular epidemiology of B. pertussis
Corresponding author: Qiushui He Email : qiuhe@utu.fi
3. Role of major virulence factors in pertussis infection and disease pathogenesis
Corresponding author: Nick Carbonetti Email : ncarbonetti@som.umaryland.edu
4. Functional programming of innate immune cells in response to B. pertussis infection and vaccination
Corresponding author: Dimitri Diavatopoulos Email : Dimitri.Diavatopoulos@radboudumc.nl
5. Superior imprinting of B. pertussis specific CD4+ T cell immunity by natural infection
Corresponding author: Cecile ACM van Els Email : cecile.van.els@rivm.nl
6. Human immune responses to pertussis vaccines
Corresponding author: Giorgio Fedele Email : giorgio.fedele@iss.it
7. Pertussis: diagnosis, prevention and control
Corresponding author: Paola Stefanelli Email : paola.stefanelli@iss.it
8. Pertussis on low- and middle-income countries (LMIC): a pragmatic approach
Corresponding author: Nicole Guiso Email : nicole.guiso@pasteur.fr
9. Clinical findings and management of pertussis
Corresponding author: Susanna Esposito Email : susanna.esposito@unipg.it
10. Need for improved immunization strategies.
Corresponding author: Antonio Cassone Email : antonio.cassone2@gmail.com
11. New pertussis vaccines: a need and a challenge.
Corresponding author: Daniela Hozbor Email : hozbor.daniela@gmail.com

Produktinformationen

Titel: Pertussis Infection and Vaccines
Untertitel: Advances in Microbiology, Infectious Diseases and Public Health Volume 12
Editor:
EAN: 9783030332495
Format: E-Book (pdf)
Hersteller: Springer International Publishing
Genre: Medizin
Veröffentlichung: 06.01.2020
Digitaler Kopierschutz: Wasserzeichen
Dateigrösse: 4.41 MB
Anzahl Seiten: 170