Willkommen, schön sind Sie da!
Logo Ex Libris

Chuckwalla Land

  • E-Book (epub)
  • 280 Seiten
(0) Erste Bewertung abgeben
Bewertungen
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Alle Bewertungen ansehen
Described as &quote,a writer in the tradition of Henry David Thoreau, John Muir, and other self-educated seers&quote, by t... Weiterlesen
E-Books ganz einfach mit der kostenlosen Ex Libris-Reader-App lesen. Hier erhalten Sie Ihren Download-Link.
CHF 37.90
Download steht sofort bereit
Informationen zu E-Books
E-Books eignen sich auch für mobile Geräte (sehen Sie dazu die Anleitungen).
E-Books von Ex Libris sind mit Adobe DRM kopiergeschützt: Erfahren Sie mehr.
Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Beschreibung

Described as &quote,a writer in the tradition of Henry David Thoreau, John Muir, and other self-educated seers&quote, by the San Francisco Chronicle, David Rains Wallace turns his attention in this new book to another distinctive corner of California-its desert, the driest and hottest environment in North America. Drawing from his frequent forays to Death Valley, Red Rock Canyon, Kelso Dunes, and other locales, Wallace illuminates the desert's intriguing flora and fauna as he explores a controversial, unresolved scientific debate about the origin and evolution of its unusual ecosystems. Eminent scientists and scholars appear throughout these pages, including maverick paleobiologist Daniel Axelrod, botanist Ledyard Stebbins, and naturalists Edmund Jaeger and Joseph Wood Krutch. Weaving together ecology, geology, natural history, and mythology in his characteristically eloquent voice, Wallace reveals that there is more to this starkly beautiful landscape than meets the eye.

Autorentext

David Rains Wallace is the author of seventeen books, including Neptune's Ark: From Ichthyosaurs to Orcas; Beasts of Eden: Walking Whales, Dawn Horses, and Other Enigmas of Mammal Evolution, A New York Times Notable Book; and The Klamath Knot: Explorations of Myth and Evolution, Twentieth Anniversary Edition, winner of the John Burroughs Medal (all available from UC Press).

Produktinformationen

Titel: Chuckwalla Land
Untertitel: The Riddle of California's Desert
Autor:
EAN: 9780520948662
ISBN: 978-0-520-94866-2
Digitaler Kopierschutz: Adobe-DRM
Format: E-Book (epub)
Herausgeber: University of California Press
Genre: Geologie
Anzahl Seiten: 280
Veröffentlichung: 05.05.2011
Jahr: 2011
Auflage: 1. Auflage
Untertitel: Englisch
Dateigrösse: 0.9 MB