Willkommen, schön sind Sie da!
Logo Ex Libris

The Golden Sisters

  • E-Book (epub)
  • 352 Seiten
(0) Erste Bewertung abgeben
Bewertungen
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Alle Bewertungen ansehen
Martha's girls return in a poignant wartime story of love lost ... and found. A moving saga that takes the reader to the very... Weiterlesen
CHF 9.90
Download steht sofort bereit
Informationen zu E-Books
E-Books eignen sich auch für mobile Geräte (sehen Sie dazu die Anleitungen).
E-Books von Ex Libris sind mit Adobe DRM kopiergeschützt: Erfahren Sie mehr.
Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.
Bestellung & Lieferung in eine Filiale möglich

Beschreibung

Martha's girls return in a poignant wartime story of love lost ... and found. A moving saga that takes the reader to the very heart of a close-knit, fiery, loving family - perfect for fans of Maureen Lee, Mary Larkin and Pam Weaver.It's 1941 and German bombs are falling on Belfast. Martha's girls face danger, hardship and difficult decisions.Irene, the eldest of the sisters, is struggling with the constraints of married life, until a chance meeting forces her to choose between romance and reality.Pat, intelligent and sensitive, is working in Stormont alongside William Kennedy. As their relationship deepens, she feels that real happiness could be within her grasp.Peggy, impulsive and glamorous, is thrilled when the charismatic Devlin offers her a job with the dance band at the Plaza Ballroom. But she soon sees his darker side...Sheila, the youngest, is blossoming into a young woman, though her family seem intent on treating her like a child. When will they accept her for the grown-up she is?Together, they are the Golden Sisters, singing their way to victory in concert halls and army camps. But the war is taking their lives in unexpected directions and Martha will need all her strength to help her girls find their way through these turbulent times.

Autorentext

Alrene Hughes was born in Enniskillen, grew up in Belfast and now lives in Manchester. She was an English teacher for twenty years and now writes full time.
Her first novel 'Martha's Girls' was inspired by a family scrapbook of concert programmes and newspaper cuttings about The Golden Sisters - her mother and aunts. Her second book 'The Golden Sisters' was published in March 2015 and launched at the Northern Ireland War Memorial museum in Belfast. The final book in the WW2 trilogy 'A Song in my Heart' was published in June 2016.

Alrene on Twitter: @alrenehughes

Visit her website: www.alrenehughes.com



Klappentext

A moving saga that takes the reader to the very heart of a close-knit, fiery, loving family - perfect for fans of Maureen Lee, Mary Larkin and Pam Weaver.

It's 1941 and German bombs are falling on Belfast. Martha's girls face danger, hardship and difficult decisions.


Irene, the eldest of the sisters, is struggling with the constraints of married life, until a chance meeting forces her to choose between romance and reality.


Pat, intelligent and sensitive, is working in Stormont alongside William Kennedy. As their relationship deepens, she feels that real happiness could be within her grasp.


Peggy, impulsive and glamorous, is thrilled when the charismatic Devlin offers her a job with the dance band at the Plaza Ballroom. But she soon sees his darker side...


Sheila, the youngest, is blossoming into a young woman, though her family seem intent on treating her like a child. When will they accept her for the grown-up she is?


Together, they are the Golden Sisters, singing their way to victory in concert halls and army camps. But the war is taking their lives in unexpected directions and Martha will need all her strength to help her girls find their way through these turbulent times.

Produktinformationen

Titel: The Golden Sisters
Untertitel: The sequel to Martha's Girls
Autor:
EAN: 9780856409493
ISBN: 978-0-85640-949-3
Format: E-Book (epub)
Herausgeber: Blackstaff
Genre: Geschichte
Veröffentlichung: 06.03.2015
Digitaler Kopierschutz: Adobe-DRM
Dateigrösse: 0.93 MB
Anzahl Seiten: 352
Jahr: 2015
Untertitel: Englisch