50% Rabatt auf ausgewählte E-Books! Jetzt profitieren.
Willkommen, schön sind Sie da!
Logo Ex Libris

Music, Wit, and Wisdom

  • Fester Einband
  • 298 Seiten
(0) Erste Bewertung abgeben
Alle Bewertungen ansehen
Besetzung: Musikbuecher, BiographienAutobiography The twelve lectures held by Artur Schnabel at the University of Chicago in 1945 ... Weiterlesen
47.90 CHF 38.30
Auslieferung erfolgt in der Regel innert 4 bis 5 Werktagen.


Besetzung: Musikbuecher, Biographien



The twelve lectures held by Artur Schnabel at the University of Chicago in 1945 are generally thought of as his autobiography. This new edition of the book "My Life and Music" is a complete revision of the previously published text, with considerable additions to some sections. The text was revised using the lecture manuscripts stored in the music archives of the Akademie der Künste, Berlin. Schnabel's "autobiography" can still be read today as a key work of 20th century music history. His dazzling intellect, profound humour and acute insights into music and musical life make his lectures as relevant today as they were at the time. Schnabel was an artist who reflected upon the value of music in modern society like no other practicing musician, and who foresaw developments decades ago that are only now becoming fully apparent. Artur Schnabel was born in 1882, grew up in Vienna, and studied with Theodor Leschetizky. From 1898 to 1933 he lived in Berlin where his international career as a pianist began. Schnabel's residence from 1933 to 1938 was at Lake Como, Italy; he emigrated to the United States in 1939. Aside from his legendary recordings of Beethoven, Schubert, Mozart, and Brahms, Schnabel's legacy comprises a number of remarkable compositions of his own.


Titel: Music, Wit, and Wisdom
Untertitel: Autobiography
EAN: 9783936000535
ISBN: 978-3-936000-53-5
Format: Fester Einband
Herausgeber: Wolke Verlagsges. Mbh
Genre: Musik
Anzahl Seiten: 298
Gewicht: 530g
Größe: H222mm x B152mm x T25mm
Veröffentlichung: 01.08.2009
Jahr: 2009
Zuletzt angesehen
Verlauf löschen