Bienvenue chez nous !
Logo Ex Libris
 Laissez-vous inspirer ! 

Together Forever

  • Livre Relié
  • 224 Nombre de pages
(0) Donner la première évaluation
Afficher toutes les évaluations
"Glen E. Friedman has done it again, bringing you yet another classic collection of many of his never-before-seen photos of RUN-DM... Lire la suite
CHF 49.00
Habituellement expédié sous 2 à 3 semaines.


"Glen E. Friedman has done it again, bringing you yet another classic collection of many of his never-before-seen photos of RUN-DMC and The Beastie Boys in a brilliantly assembled tome written by GEF with incredible contributions by Chuck D, DJ Run and Mike D, and a one-of-a-kind introduction by Chris Rock. This unique collectible will be released on September 17, 2019, published by Rizzoli, and you should pre-order your copy now, as Friedman’s books quickly sell out the first editions." —JUICE MAGAZINE

Together Forever: The Run-DMC and Beastie Boys Photographs by Glen E. Friedman. Immersed in the skate and punk scenes of the 1980s, Friedman’s photographs were a window into a subculture percolating under the surface of Ronald Reagan’s America. Then in 1987, he documented a critical moment in the emergence of hip-hop: the joint tour of Run-DMC and the Beastie Boys. This photo book, published by Rizzoli with a foreword by Chris Rock, shares the moment when hip-hop moved from the inner city to suburbs everywhere, forever changing the style and sound of American culture. (Friedman also wrote the recently rereleased photo book on the crucial straight-edge punk band Fugazi, 'Keep Your Eyes Open,' featuring a new interview with frontman Ian MacKaye.)"

Glen E. Friedman is a celebrated photographer of rebellious skateboarding, punk, and hip-hop cultures. Chris Rock is a comedian and actor. Darryl "DMC" McDaniels and Joseph "Rev Run" Simmons are members of RUN-DMC. Michael "Mike D" Diamond and Adam "Ad-Rock" Horovitz are members of the Beastie Boys.

Texte du rabat

"People always get caught up in what these two iconic groups stood for, but can we just step back for a moment and say, who gives a fuck? They were good! They made amazing records!...Rap parallels punk rock: Destroy everything that came before it and borrow little bits to help you get there. Bring it full circle: it helps us understand how and why these two groups did what they did, and why Glen E. brings us into the picture deeper than anyone and brings it all together. Forever. These photographs inspire and excite us to this day." -- Chris Rock

"Run-DMC were outsiders from mainstream culture. The Beasties were outsiders from hip-hop culture. Being accepted by Run-DMC and touring with Run-DMC was a mark of authenticity for Beastie Boys. There was a feeling of family between the two groups." -- Rick Rubin

In the early 1980s iconic skate and punk photographer Glen E. Friedman had a front row seat to the rise of hip-hop music and culture. He was able to get with both Run-DMC and Beastie Boys on their meteoric rise to fame. Befriending both groups, Friedman's eye composed the photos that have become synonymous with how we remember both groups when they first came into our collective consciousness. And then the moment when it all came together: the seminal, popular, and highly publicized 1987 joint concert tour, Raising Hell.
TOGETHER FOREVER is not only a visual time capsule of hip-hop on the cusp of becoming mainstream, but a record of the strong bond of friendship between these two groups and how they significantly influenced each other, all while having a massive impact on music history and the industry. Including scores of never-before-published photos made by Friedman--the bands in concert, goofing around with celebrities, portraits, and, of course, hanging out together--TOGETHER FOREVER includes a foreword by Chris Rock, plus text contributions by the surviving members of both groups and others who were there, proving that the originals still reign.

Informations sur le produit

Titre: Together Forever
Sous-titre: The Run-DMC and Beastie Boys Photographs
Code EAN: 9780847866472
ISBN: 978-0-8478-6647-2
Format: Livre Relié
Editeur: Random House N.Y.
Genre: Musique
nombre de pages: 224
Poids: 1395g
Taille: H232mm x B276mm x T28mm
Année: 2019