Bienvenue chez nous !
Logo Ex Libris
 Laissez-vous inspirer ! 

The Tuscan Contessa

  • Couverture cartonnée
  • 354 Nombre de pages
(0) Donner la première évaluation
Évaluations
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Afficher toutes les évaluations
Informationen zum Autor Dinah Jefferies is the author of seven novels: The Separation; The Tea Planter's Wife, a Number One Sunday... Lire la suite
CHF 14.50
Habituellement expédié sous 2 à 4 jours ouvrés.
Commande avec livraison dans une succursale

Description

Informationen zum Autor Dinah Jefferies is the author of seven novels: The Separation; The Tea Planter's Wife, a Number One Sunday Times bestseller ; The Silk Merchant's Daughter; Before the Rains; The Sapphire Widow; The Missing Sister and The Tuscan Contessa. She lives in Gloucestershire. Klappentext A sweeping new novel from the bestselling author of "The Tea Planter's Wife, set in Tuscany during WWII. Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore and Victoria Hislop. Zusammenfassung ONE WAR. TWO WOMEN. WILL THEY BE ABLE TO SAVE THE ONES THEY LOVE? A sweeping new novel from the number one Sunday Times bestselling author of The Tea Planter's Wife In 1943, Contessa Sofia de' Corsi's peaceful Tuscan villa among the olive groves is upturned by the sudden arrival of German soldiers. Desperate to fight back, she agrees to shelter a wounded British radio engineer in her home, keeping him hidden from her husband Lorenzo - knowing that she is putting all of their lives at risk. When Maxine, an Italian-American working for the resistance, arrives on Sofia's doorstep, the pair forge an uneasy alliance. Feisty, independent Maxine promised herself never to fall in love. But when she meets a handsome partisan named Marco, she realizes it's a promise she can't keep... Before long, the two women find themselves entangled in a dangerous game with the Nazis. Will they be discovered? And will they both be able to save the ones they love? 'Dinah Jefferies has a remarkable gift for conjuring up another time and place with lush descriptions, full of power and intensity' Kate Furnivall 'A stunning story of love and loyalty in wartime' Rachel Hore 'Beautiful writing, wonderful characters, gripping story, and such a gorgeously evoked Tuscan setting - how I loved this! Such a perfect, immersive summer read!' Jenny Ashcroft 'A lush, fast-moving, gripping story that will keep you guessing till the last pages. A perfect summer read' Gill Paul 'It's so rich & the historical details so transporting. Reading this novel is like being swept into a wonderful movie' Eve Chase ...

Auteur
Dinah Jefferies is the author of seven novels: The Separation; The Tea Planter's Wife, a Number One Sunday Times bestseller; The Silk Merchant's Daughter; Before the Rains; The Sapphire Widow; The Missing Sister and The Tuscan Contessa. She lives in Gloucestershire.

Texte du rabat

A sweeping new novel from the bestselling author of "The Tea Planter's Wife, set in Tuscany during WWII. Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore and Victoria Hislop.



Résumé

ONE WAR. TWO WOMEN. WILL THEY BE ABLE TO SAVE THE ONES THEY LOVE?

A sweeping new novel from the number one Sunday Times bestselling author of The Tea Planter's Wife

In 1943, Contessa Sofia de' Corsi's peaceful Tuscan villa among the olive groves is upturned by the sudden arrival of German soldiers. Desperate to fight back, she agrees to shelter a wounded British radio engineer in her home, keeping him hidden from her husband Lorenzo - knowing that she is putting all of their lives at risk.

When Maxine, an Italian-American working for the resistance, arrives on Sofia's doorstep, the pair forge an uneasy alliance. Feisty, independent Maxine promised herself never to fall in love. But when she meets a handsome partisan named Marco, she realizes it's a promise she can't keep...

Before long, the two women find themselves entangled in a dangerous game with the Nazis. Will they be discovered? And will they both be able to save the ones they love?

'Dinah Jefferies has a remarkable gift for conjuring up another time and place with lush descriptions, full of power and intensity' Kate Furnivall

'A stunning story of love and loyalty in wartime' Rachel Hore

'Beautiful writing, wonderful characters, gripping story, and such a gorgeously evoked Tuscan setting - how I loved this! Such a perfect, immersive summer read!' Jenny Ashcroft

'A lush, fast-moving, gripping story that will keep you guessing till the last pages. A perfect summer read' Gill Paul

'It's so rich & the historical details so transporting. Reading this novel is like being swept into a wonderful movie' Eve Chase

Informations sur le produit

Titre: The Tuscan Contessa
Auteur:
Code EAN: 9780241987315
ISBN: 0241987318
Format: Couverture cartonnée
Editeur: Penguin Books Ltd (UK)
Genre: Romans et récits
nombre de pages: 354
Poids: 259g
Taille: H198mm x B128mm x T27mm
Année: 2020
Pays: GB