Bienvenue chez nous!
Logo Ex Libris

Barkskins
Annie Proulx

ldquo;The Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Brokeback Mountain and The Shipping News delivers an epic novel that begins with two im... Lire la suite
Couverture cartonnée, 736 Nombre de pages  Plus d'informations
CHF 22.90
Habituellement expédié sous 2 à 3 semaines.

Description

ldquo;The Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Brokeback Mountain and The Shipping News delivers an epic novel that begins with two impoverished Frenchmen, full of hope, who migrate to Canada in the 18th century and become indentured woodcutters, or 'barkskins.' The following 300-year history of two families spans cultures and continents, and probes North Americans’ predatory history with our now-vanishing natural world.”

Auteur
Annie Proulx is the author of eight books, including the novel The Shipping News and the story collection Close Range. Her many honors include a Pulitzer Prize, a National Book Award, the Irish Times International Fiction Prize, and a PEN/Faulkner award. Her story “Brokeback Mountain,” which originally appeared in The New Yorker, was made into an Academy Award-winning film. Her most recent novel is Barkskins. She lives in Seattle.

Résumé
Finalist for the Kirkus Prize for Best Novel
A New York Times Notable Book
A Washington Post Best Book of the Year


From the Pulitzer Prize-­­winning author of The Shipping News and “Brokeback Mountain,” comes the New York Times bestselling epic about the demise of the world’s forests: “Barkskins is grand entertainment in the tradition of Dickens and Tolstoy…the crowning achievement of Annie Proulx’s distinguished career, but also perhaps the greatest environmental novel ever written” (San Francisco Chronicle).

In the late seventeenth century two young Frenchmen, René Sel and Charles Duquet, arrive in New France. Bound to a feudal lord for three years in exchange for land, they become wood-cutters—barkskins. René suffers extraordinary hardship, oppressed by the forest he is charged with clearing. He is forced to marry a native woman and their descendants live trapped between two cultures. But Duquet runs away, becomes a fur trader, then sets up a timber business. Annie Proulx tells the stories of the descendants of Sel and Duquet over three hundred years—their travels across North America, to Europe, China, and New Zealand—the revenge of rivals, accidents, pestilence, Indian attacks, and cultural annihilation. Over and over, they seize what they can of a presumed infinite resource, leaving the modern-day characters face to face with possible ecological collapse.

“A stunning, bracing, full-tilt ride through three hundred years of US and Canadian history…with the type of full-immersion plot that keeps you curled in your chair, reluctant to stop reading” (Elle), Barkskins showcases Proulx’s inimitable genius of creating characters who are so vivid that we follow them with fierce attention. “This is Proulx at the height of her powers as an irreplaceable American voice” (Entertainment Weekly, Grade A), and Barkskins “is an awesome monument of a book” (The Washington Post)—“the masterpiece she was meant to write” (The Boston Globe). As Anthony Doerr says, “This magnificent novel possesses the dark humor of The Shipping News and the social awareness of ‘Brokeback Mountain.’”

Détails sur le produit

Titre: Barkskins
Auteur: Annie Proulx
Code EAN: 9780743288798
ISBN: 978-0-7432-8879-8
Format: Couverture cartonnée
Editeur: Simon & Schuster N.Y.
Genre: Romans et récits
nombre de pages: 736
Poids: g
Taille: H235mm x B156mm
Année: 2017

Disponibilité en succursale

NPA, Lieu, Nom Aucun résultat n'a été trouvé. Veuillez indiquer un NPA ou une localité valide. Veuillez indiquer un NPA ou une localité. Cet article est disponible dans NUMBER succursale(s) Cet article n’est actuellement disponible que dans la boutique en ligne. NUMBER ex. disponibles Etat du stock actuellement indisponible. Carte détaillée Detailkarte in einem neuen Fenster anzeigen Itinéraire Route in einem neuen Fenster berechnen Adresse Téléphone Heures d’ouverture NUMBER ex. disponibles Pas en stock Trouvez la succursale la plus proche Il n'y a pas des magasins dans 20 km large
  • Saisissez dans le champ de recherche le NPA, la localité ou le nom d’une succursale
  • Cliquez sur la flèche à droite du champ de recherche
  • Sélectionnez une succursale dans la liste des résultats

Trouvez la succursale la plus proche avec votre mobile Lundi Mardi Mercredi Jeudi Vendredi Samedi Dimanche
Trouvez la succursale la plus proche
  • Saisissez dans le champ de recherche le NPA, la localité ou le nom d’une succursale
  • Cliquez sur la flèche à droite du champ de recherche
  • Sélectionnez une succursale dans la liste des résultats

Trouvez la succursale la plus proche avec votre mobile
Vus récemment
Effacer l’historique