Bienvenue chez nous!
Logo Ex Libris

The William Monk Mysteries

  • Couverture cartonnée
  • 1152 Nombre de pages
(0) Donner la première évaluation
Afficher toutes les évaluations
Inspector William Monk journeys into the dark underside of Victorian society as he investigates the brutal murder of a gentleman, ... Lire la suite
CHF 27.90
Habituellement expédié sous 2 à 3 semaines.


Inspector William Monk journeys into the dark underside of Victorian society as he investigates the brutal murder of a gentleman, the daughter of an aristocratic family, and a high-ranking military officer in an omnibus edition containing the first three William Monk mysteries--The Face of a Stranger, A Dangerous Mourning, and Defend and Betray. Original. 26,500 first printing.

“Murder fans who prefer their crimes with a touch of class should heat some scones and nestle back for the afternoon.”
The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

“Anne Perry can write a Victorian mystery that would make Dickens’s eyes pop.”
The New York Times Book Review

Anne Perry is the bestselling author of two acclaimed series set in Victorian England: the William Monk novels, including Blind Justice and A Sunless Sea, the Charlotte and Thomas Pitt novels, including Death on Blackheath and Midnight at Marble Arch. She is also the author of a series of five World War I novels, as well as eleven holiday novels, most recently A New York Christmas, and a historical novel, The Sheen on the Silk, set in the Ottoman Empire. Anne Perry lives in Scotland and Los Angeles.

Texte du rabat

Few authors have made Victorian London as engaging and lively as Anne Perry has and her rich descriptions and charismatic characters have long captivated fans around the world. Now in one enticing volume, here are Anne Perry's first three classic novels featuring private investigator William Monk.
His name, they tell him, is William Monk, and he is a London police detective. His memory vanished after a terrible accident, intent on hiding his condition and starting a new life, Monk tackles a grisly murder case in which each new revelation leads him to the answers he seeks but dreads to find. . . .
Called upon to investigate the brutal murder of a blue-blooded young widow, Monk is plagued by his lingering amnesia and an inept supervisor. But nurse Hester Latterly offers her assistance, and together they grope warily through the silence and shadows that obscure the aristocrat's demise.
After a brilliant military career, General Thaddeus Carlyon meets his death not on the battlefield but at a London dinner party, and his wife confesses to the murder. But Monk and Hester Latterly suspect deceit, and with the trial only days away, they feverishly work to unravel the dark heart of the mystery.

Informations sur le produit

Titre: The William Monk Mysteries
Sous-titre: The First Three Novels
Code EAN: 9780345480934
ISBN: 978-0-345-48093-4
Format: Couverture cartonnée
Editeur: Random House N.Y.
Genre: Romans et récits
nombre de pages: 1152
Poids: 798g
Taille: H204mm x B132mm x T39mm
Année: 2005


Vue d’ensemble

Mes évaluations

Évaluez cet article