Bienvenue chez nous !
Logo Ex Libris
 Laissez-vous inspirer ! 

The Watchman's Rattle

  • eBook (epub)
  • 352 Nombre de pages
(0) Donner la première évaluation
Évaluations
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Afficher toutes les évaluations
Why does it feel as if our most challenging problems today- the worldwide recession, global warming, fast-spreading viruses, terro... Lire la suite
Lisez confortablement vos ebooks dans l’appli gratuite Ex Libris Reader. Vous obtiendrez ici votre lien de téléchargement.
CHF 10.45
Download est disponible immédiatement
Informations sur les eBooks
Les eBooks conviennent également aux appareils mobiles (voir les instructions).
Les eBooks d'Ex Libris sont protégés contre la copie par ADOBE DRM: apprenez-en plus.
Pour plus d'informations, cliquez ici.

Description

Why does it feel as if our most challenging problems today- the worldwide recession, global warming, fast-spreading viruses, terrorism and poverty- aren't getting solved? What if our brain has limits that prevent it from solving such complex problems? If ancient civilisations collapsed because they, too, hit a cognitive limitation, are we headed for a similar collapse, and if so, can it be prevented?Using historical and modern-day examples, The Watchman's Rattle describes the cognitive gridlock that sets in when complexity races ahead of the brain's ability to manage it. Beginning with the Mayans, Khmer and Roman Empires, Costa shows how the tendency to find a quick fix to problems by focusing on symptoms instead of searching for permanent solutions, leads to frightening long-term consequences: Society's ability to solve its most challenging, intractable problems becomes gridlocked, progress slows and collapse ensues. But, as Costa reveals, there is a growing body of scientific evidence that the human brain can be retrained to comprehend, analyse and resolve massively complex problems. A process of intuitive thinking, which Neuroscientists refer to as 'insight'.Part history, part social science, part biology, The Watchman's Rattle is sure to provoke, engage and incite change.

Préface
A groundbreaking and game-changing 'Big Ideas' book in the tradition of Thomas Friedman and Jared Diamond

Auteur
Rebecca D. Costa is a sociobiologist whose unique expertise is to spot and explain emerging trends in relation to human evolution, global markets and new technologies. A frequent speaker at the prestigious Renaissance Conference, West Coast Green Conference and major universities, Costa is the former CEO and founder of Silicon Valley start-up, Dazai Advertising Inc., whose clients included Apple, Hewlett-Packard and General Electric. Raised in Tokyo, Japan, Rebecca Costa graduated from the University of California with a BA in Social Sciences and earned an MBA from Santa Clara University. She lives in the central coast of California.

Informations sur le produit

Titre: The Watchman's Rattle
Sous-titre: Thinking our Way out of Extinction
Auteur:
Code EAN: 9781448131754
ISBN: 978-1-4481-3175-4
Protection contre la copie numérique: Adobe DRM
Format: eBook (epub)
Editeur: Virgin Digital
Genre: Sciences naturelles
nombre de pages: 352
Parution: 29.02.2012
Année: 2012
Sous-titre: Englisch
Taille de fichier: 0.5 MB