Bienvenue chez nous !
Logo Ex Libris
 Laissez-vous inspirer ! 

Worlds Greatest Fix: A History of Nitrogen and Agriculture

  • eBook (pdf)
  • 256 Nombre de pages
(0) Donner la première évaluation
Évaluations
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Afficher toutes les évaluations
The World's Greatest Fix: A History of Nitrogen and Agriculture tells the story of how humans have used their ingenuity throu... Lire la suite
Lisez confortablement vos ebooks dans l’appli gratuite Ex Libris Reader. Vous obtiendrez ici votre lien de téléchargement.
CHF 31.90
Download est disponible immédiatement
Informations sur les eBooks
Les eBooks conviennent également aux appareils mobiles (voir les instructions).
Les eBooks d'Ex Libris sont protégés contre la copie par ADOBE DRM: apprenez-en plus.
Pour plus d'informations, cliquez ici.

Description

The World's Greatest Fix: A History of Nitrogen and Agriculture tells the story of how humans have used their ingenuity throughout history to maintain soil fertility, and to avoid famine through productive agriculture. It starts with a layman's guide to the relevant chemistry of nitrogen and shows how the development of towns and fixed settlements meant that methods had to be found to maintain the fertility of fields exploited year after year. The way this was done, in purely empirical fashion, is described for the Chinese, the Incas, the Mayas, and the Romans. Author G. J. Leigh then examines the development of agriculture in England, including the use of field rotations. The gradual evolution of more sophisticated methods of land management is covered, emphasizing the use of fertilizers, the early development of chemistry with the realization of the modern concepts of elements and the contributions of plants and animals, and the establishment of agricultural science by Davy and Von Liebig. Leigh explains how we have arrived at our current understanding of biological nitrogen fixation through the efforts of generations of dedicated farmers and researchers. Later chapters deal with the birth of the nitrogen fixation industry and the political and economic consequences of it in Europe (First World War) and South America (guano and nitrate). The World's Greatest Fix shows how industrial fixation has developed from a laboratory process newly discovered at the beginning of the twentieth century into the impressive and sophisticated procedure in use today. Finally, the value of industrial nitrate to help feed the current world population and the environmental consequences of nitrate pollution in waters is discussed.

Texte du rabat

In the tradition of Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel, this gives the very early history of how human ingenuity overcame the risk of famine through productive agriculture. Starting with a layman's guide to the chemistry of nitrogen fixation, the book goes on to show how humans emerged from nomadic lifestyles and began developing towns and settlements. When they for the first time began planting the same fields year after year, they noticed quickly the need to ensure soil fertility. But how? The method they came up with is still in use to this day.



Résumé
In the tradition of Jared Diamonds Guns, Germs, and Steel, this gives the very early history of how human ingenuity overcame the risk of famine through productive agriculture. Starting with a laymans guide to the chemistry of nitrogen fixation, the book goes on to show how humans emerged from nomadic lifestyles and began developing towns and settlements. When they for the first time began planting the same fields year after year, they noticed quickly the need to ensure soil fertility. But how? The method they came up with is still in use to this day.

Informations sur le produit

Titre: Worlds Greatest Fix: A History of Nitrogen and Agriculture
Sous-titre: A History of Nitrogen and Agriculture
Auteur:
Code EAN: 9780198037071
ISBN: 978-0-19-803707-1
Protection contre la copie numérique: Adobe DRM
Format: eBook (pdf)
Editeur: Oxford University Press
Genre: Bases
nombre de pages: 256
Parution: 19.08.2004
Année: 2004
Sous-titre: Englisch