Bienvenue chez nous!
Logo Ex Libris

The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook

  • Couverture cartonnée
  • 256 Nombre de pages
(0) Donner la première évaluation
Évaluations
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Afficher toutes les évaluations
Klappentext A Daily Telegraph book of the year. A book of science like no other, about a scientist like no other. This is a landma... Lire la suite
CHF 18.50
Habituellement expédié sous 4 à 5 jours ouvrés.

Description

Klappentext A Daily Telegraph book of the year. A book of science like no other, about a scientist like no other. This is a landmark in science writing. It resurrects from the vaults of neglect the polymath Jerome Cardano, a Milanese of the sixteenth century. Who is he? A gambler and blasphemer, inventor and chancer, plagued by demons and anxieties, astrologer to kings, emperors and popes. This stubborn and unworldly man was the son of a lawyer and a brothel keeper, but also a gifted physician and the unacknowledged discoverer of the mathematical foundations of quantum physics. That is the argument of this charming and intoxicatingly clever book, which is truly original in its style, and in the manner of the modernists embodies in its very form its theories about the world. The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook is a science book with the panache of a novel, for readers of Carlo Rovelli or Umberto Eco. It is a work of and about genius.

Préface

This is a landmark in science writing that resurrects from the vaults of neglect the polymath Jerome Cardano, a Milanese of the sixteenth century.



Auteur
Michael Brooks, who holds a PhD in quantum physics, is an author, journalist and broadcaster. A consultant at New Scientist, he also writes regularly for New Statesman. Brooks is the author of At The Edge of Uncertainty, The Secret Anarchy of Science and the bestselling non-fiction title 13 Things That Don't Make Sense. His writing has appeared in The Guardian, The Independent, The Observer, THE, The Philadelphia Inquirer, and many magazines. He has lectured at, amongst others, NYU, the American Museum of Natural History, and the University of Cambridge.

Résumé

Who is he? A gambler and blasphemer, inventor and chancer, plagued by demons and anxieties, astrologer to kings, emperors, and popes, and the unacknowledged discoverer of the mathematical foundations of quantum physics.

The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook, like Jerome, has multiple occupations: it is at once a biography, a history of science, an explanation of quantum theory, and an engrossing story which reads like the best kind of novel. It is a science book like no other about a scientist like no other.

Informations sur le produit

Titre: The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook
Auteur:
Code EAN: 9781911617358
ISBN: 1911617354
Format: Couverture cartonnée
nombre de pages: 256
Poids: 241g
Taille: H199mm x B128mm x T20mm
Année: 2018

Évaluations

Vue d’ensemble

Mes évaluations

Évaluez cet article