Bienvenue chez nous!
Logo Ex Libris

The Quantum Astrologers Handbook

  • Livre Relié
  • 256 Nombre de pages
(0) Donner la première évaluation
Évaluations
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Afficher toutes les évaluations
Préface A Daily Telegraph book of the year. A book of science like no other, about a scientist like no other.Michael Brooks who ho... Lire la suite
CHF 22.90
Habituellement expédié sous 5 à 7 jours ouvrés.

Description

Préface
A Daily Telegraph book of the year. A book of science like no other, about a scientist like no other.

Auteur
Michael Brooks who holds a PhD in quantum physics, is an author, journalist and broadcaster. He is a consultant at New Scientist, and writes weekly for the New Statesman. He is the author of At The Edge of Uncertainty, The Secret Anarchy of Science and the bestselling non-fiction title 13 Things That Don't Make Sense. His writing has appeared in The Guardian, The Independent, The Observer, THE, Philadelphia Inquirer and many magazines. He has lectured at, amongst others, NYU, the American Museum of Natural History, and the University of Cambridge.

Texte du rabat

For readers of Carlo Rovelli and Umberto Eco, this is a work of science that reads like a novel and recounts the life of Jerome Cardano - a largely unforgotten inventor.



Résumé

This is a landmark in science writing. It resurrects from the vaults of neglect the polymath Jerome Cardano, a Milanese of the sixteenth century. Who is he? A gambler and self-harmer, inventor and chancer, plagued by demons and anxieties, astrologer to kings, emperors and popes, stubborn and unworldly, the son of a mathematician and a brothel keeper, but also unacknowledged discoverer of so much: probability theory, imaginary numbers, statistics, atomic physics, and even quantum theory. That is the argument of this charming and intoxicatingly clever book, which is truly original in its style, and in the manner of the modernists embodies in its very form its theories about the world.

The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook is a science book with the panache of a novel, for readers of Carlo Rovelli or Umberto Eco. It is a work of and about genius.

Informations sur le produit

Titre: The Quantum Astrologers Handbook
Auteur:
Code EAN: 9781911344407
ISBN: 978-1-911344-40-7
Format: Livre Relié
Editeur: Scribe
Genre: Mathématique
nombre de pages: 256
Poids: 404g
Taille: H219mm x B158mm x T27mm
Année: 2017

Évaluations

Vue d’ensemble

Mes évaluations

Évaluez cet article