Bienvenue chez nous !
Logo Ex Libris
 Laissez-vous inspirer ! 

The Emperor's Handbook

  • Livre Relié
  • 160 Nombre de pages
(0) Donner la première évaluation
Évaluations
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Afficher toutes les évaluations
Victor Davis Hanson Professor of Classics at California State University This new, accessible translation by Scot and David Hicks ... Lire la suite
CHF 26.50
Habituellement expédié sous 4 à 9 semaines.
Commande avec livraison dans une succursale

Description

Victor Davis Hanson Professor of Classics at California State University This new, accessible translation by Scot and David Hicks of the emperor´s famous Stoic handbook reflects far better the flavor of Marcus Aurelius´s own style. Americans should read Marcus -- and this new edition now makes it a joy.

Auteur
Scot and David Hicks have headed schools in Europe and America. Scot lives in Paris, France. David is president of Darlington School in Rome, Georgia. He is author of Norms & Nobility, which won the American Library Association´s Outstanding Book Award for education. Both brothers hail from Montana, where they spend their summers with family.

Texte du rabat

Now available in an accessible, new translation, "The Emperor's Handbook" is an important piece of ancient literature that remains more relevant than ever today.

Résumé
In the tradition of The Art of Living and Marcus Aurelius’ Meditations—a practical book of timeless advice from one of the most powerful individuals in history—available for the first time in a highly accessible translation, including several unique features for contemporary readers and users of daily wisdom guides.

Essayist Matthew Arnold described the man who wrote these words as “the most beautiful figure in history.” Possibly so, but he was certainly more than that. Marcus Aurelius ruled the Roman Empire at its height, yet he remained untainted by the incalculable wealth and absolute power that had corrupted many of his predecessors. Marcus knew the secret of how to live the good life amid trying and often catastrophic circumstances, of how to find happiness and peace when surrounded by misery and turmoil, and of how to choose the harder right over the easier wrong without apparent regard for self-interest.

The historian Michael Grant praises Marcus’s book as “the best ever written by a major ruler,” and Josiah Bunting, superintendent of the Virginia Military Institute, calls it “the essential book on character, leadership, duty.” Never intended for publication, the Meditations contains the practical and inspiring wisdom by which this remarkable emperor lived the life not of a saintly recluse, but of a general, administrator, legislator, spouse, parent, and judge besieged on all sides.

The Emperor’s Handbook offers a vivid and fresh translation of this important piece of ancient literature. It brings Marcus’s words to life and shows his wisdom to be as relevant today as it was in the second century. This book belongs on the desk and in the briefcase of every business executive, political leader, and military officer. It speaks to the soul of anyone who has ever exercised authority or faced adversity or believed in a better day.

Contenu
Contents

Introduction

Book One

Book Two

Book Three

Book Four

Book Five

Book Six

Book Seven

Book Eight

Book Nine

Book Ten

Book Eleven

Book Twelve

subject index

Informations sur le produit

Titre: The Emperor's Handbook
Sous-titre: A New Translation of The Meditations
Auteur:
Traducteur:
Code EAN: 9780743233835
ISBN: 978-0-7432-3383-5
Format: Livre Relié
Editeur: Simon & Schuster N.Y.
Genre: Philosophie et religion
nombre de pages: 160
Poids: 262g
Taille: H222mm x B146mm x T15mm
Année: 2002