Bienvenue chez nous !
Logo Ex Libris
 Laissez-vous inspirer ! 

Horizons

  • Couverture cartonnée
  • 368 Nombre de pages
(0) Donner la première évaluation
Évaluations
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Afficher toutes les évaluations
James Poskett is Assistant Professor in the History of Science and Technology at the University of Warwick. He completed his PhD a... Lire la suite
CHF 26.90
Pas encore publié, en attente pour octobre
Commande avec livraison dans une succursale

Description

Auteur
James Poskett is Assistant Professor in the History of Science and Technology at the University of Warwick. He completed his PhD at the University of Cambridge where he also held the Adrian Research Fellowship at Darwin College. Poskett has written for the Guardian, Nature, and BBC History Magazine, among others, and his research has taken him across the world, from astronomical observatories in India to natural history museums in Australia. In 2013 he was shortlisted for the BBC New Generation Thinker Award and in 2012 he was awarded the Best Newcomer Prize by the Association of British Science Writers. He is the author of the academic book, Materials of the Mind, and Horizons is his first for a general readership.

Texte du rabat

A radical retelling of the history of science that challenges the Eurocentric narrative.

We are told that modern science was invented in Europe, the product of great minds like Nicolaus Copernicus, Isaac Newton, Charles Darwin and Albert Einstein. But this is wrong. The history of science is not, and has never been, a uniquely European endeavour.

Copernicus relied on mathematical techniques borrowed from Arabic and Persian texts. When Newton set out the laws of motion, he relied on astronomical observations made in India and Africa. When Darwin was writing On the Origin of Species, he consulted a sixteenth-century Chinese encyclopaedia. And when Einstein was studying quantum mechanics, he was inspired by the young Bengali physicist, Satyendra Nath Bose.

Horizons pushes the history of science beyond Europe, exploring the ways in which scientists from Africa, America, Asia and the Pacific fit into this global story. Scientists today are quick to recognise the international nature of their work. In this ambitious and revisionist history, James Poskett reveals that this tradition goes back much further than we think.

Perfect reading for fans of Peter Frankopan's The Silk Roads and Bettany Hughes's Istanbul.

Informations sur le produit

Titre: Horizons
Sous-titre: A Global History of Science
Auteur:
Code EAN: 9780241394106
ISBN: 978-0-241-39410-6
Format: Couverture cartonnée
Editeur: Penguin Books
Genre: Sciences naturelles en général
nombre de pages: 368
Poids: 600g
Taille: H234mm x B153mm x T40mm
Année: 2021