Bienvenue chez nous !
Logo Ex Libris
 Laissez-vous inspirer ! 

Consent

  • Livre Relié
  • 336 Nombre de pages
(0) Donner la première évaluation
Évaluations
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Afficher toutes les évaluations
Préface A powerful memoir in the tradition of Sarah Hepola's Blackout and Ariel Levy's Rules Do Not Apply, about a young woman's t... Lire la suite
CHF 35.50
Habituellement expédié sous 2 à 4 semaines.
Commande avec livraison dans une succursale

Description

Préface
A powerful memoir in the tradition of Sarah Hepola's Blackout and Ariel Levy's Rules Do Not Apply, about a young woman's toxic relationship with her mentor, an acclaimed priest and professor, whose dark, stalking obsession ruined her academic career.

Auteur

Donna Freitas writes both fiction and nonfiction, most recently, Consent on Campus: A Manifesto. She has lectured at nearly two hundred colleges and universities about her research on college students. She lives in Brooklyn.



Texte du rabat

The author delivers a forensic examination of the years she spent being stalked by her professor. She uses her nightmarish experience to examine the ways in which consent is stigmatized, debated, and understood.



Résumé

Donna Freitas has lived two lives. In one life, she is a published author and respected scholar who has traveled around the country speaking about Title IX, consent, religion, and sex on college campuses. In the other, she is a victim, a woman who suffered and suffers still because she was stalked by her graduate professor, a renowned Catholic priest, for more than two years.

As a doctoral candidate in a world-famous theology department, Freitas loved asking big questions, challenging established theories and sinking her teeth into sacred texts. She felt at home in the library, and safe in the book-lined offices of scholars whom she admired. But during her first year of study, one particular scholar became obsessed with Freitas' academic enthusiasm. He filled her student mailbox with letters and articles. He lurked on the sidewalk outside her apartment. He urged her to accompany him to plays, concerts and summer retreats. He called daily and left nagging voicemails. He befriended her mother and made himself comfortable in her family's home. He wouldn't go away. While his attraction was not overtly sexual, it was undeniably inappropriate and, most importantly--unwanted.

In Consent: A Memoir of Unwanted Attention, Donna Freitas delivers a forensic examination of the years she spent stalked by her professor and uses her nightmarish experience to examine the ways in which we stigmatize, debate and attempt to understand consent today.

Informations sur le produit

Titre: Consent
Sous-titre: A Memoir of Unwanted Attention
Auteur:
Code EAN: 9780316450522
ISBN: 978-0-316-45052-2
Format: Livre Relié
Editeur: Little, Brown and Company
Genre: Politique, société et économie
nombre de pages: 336
Poids: 540g
Taille: H238mm x B158mm x T38mm
Parution: 12.09.2019
Année: 2019