Bienvenue chez nous!
Logo Ex Libris

I am David

  • Couverture cartonnée
  • 190 Nombre de pages
(0) Donner la première évaluation
Évaluations
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Afficher toutes les évaluations
Klappentext Originally published in Britain in 1965, it has won many awards including the prize for the Best Scandinavian Children... Lire la suite
CHF 11.50
Habituellement expédié sous 2 à 3 semaines.

Description

Klappentext Originally published in Britain in 1965, it has won many awards including the prize for the Best Scandinavian Children's Book in 1963. An incredible story of self-discovery and survival against the odds.

Auteur

Anne Holm was born in Denmark in 1922, named Else Annelise Jørgensen. After finishing school, she trained as a journalist and spent much of her life travelling around Europe, also spending some years in America. She spoke German, Italian, French and English, was politically motivated and wrote about the impact of Cold War in much of her journalism.


I Am David, simply called David in the original Danish, was first published in Britain in 1965. It has won many awards, including The Prize for the Best Scandinavian Children's Book in 1963. It has never been out of print since first publication and is considered a classic all over Europe.



Résumé

'You must get away tonight,' the man had told him.


David escapes from the concentration camp where he has spent his entire life and flees across Europe. He is utterly alone who can he trust? What will await him? And all the while, how can he be sure that they won't catch up with him . . .


This is the remarkable story of David's introduction to the world: sea, mountains and flowers, the colours of Italy, the taste of fruit, people laughing and smiling, all are new to David. David learns that his polite manner, his haunted eyes and his thin features are strange to other people. He must learn to fend for himself in this strange new world.


An incredible story of survival against all odds and self discovery, for readers of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and The Book Thief.



Contenu
Part I: INVENTION. 1. Inventing Ideas. Introduction. Asking Questions. Re-Inventing Education. Reading for Rhetoric. How To Use The Composition Of Everyday Life. Inventing Ideas Assignment. 2. Remembering Who You Were. Readings. Selling Manure," Bonnie Jo Campbell. "How I Lost the Junior Miss Pageant," Cindy Bosley. "The Thrill of Victory . . . The Agony of Parents," Jennifer Schwind-Pawlak [Student essay]. Invention. Point of Contact. Analysis. Public Resonance. Thesis. Rhetorical Tools. Revision. Reflection. Beyond the Essay. 3. Explaining Relationships. Readings. "Americans and the Land," John Steinbeck. "Mugged," Jim Crockett. "Tinder, You, and Me," Kellie Coppola. [Student essay]. Invention. Point of Contact. Analysis. Public Resonance. Thesis. Rhetorical Tools. Revision. Reflection. Beyond the Essay. 4. Observing. Readings. "Living Like Weasels," Annie Dillard. "The Front Porch," Chester McCovey. "Red Raiders Fans," Taylor Perry. [Student essay.] Invention. Point of Contact. Observing a Culture: Writing an Ethnography Essay. Analysis. Public Resonance. Thesis. Rhetorical Tools. Revision. Reflection. Beyond the Essay. 5. Analyzing Concepts. Readings. "Why ''Natural'' Doesn''t Mean Anything Anymore," Michael Pollan. "Black Like I Thought I Was," Erin Aubrey Kaplan. "The Real, The Bad, and The Ugly," Cassie Heidecker [Student essay]. Invention. Point of Contact. Analysis. Public Resonance. Thesis. Rhetorical Tools. Revision. Reflection. Beyond the Essay. 6. Analyzing Texts. Readings. "The Weight of Sanity: A Sample Analysis of Ann Marie Paulin." "The Default Setting: An Analysis of David Foster Wallace," Adrienne Carr. "Politics and Audience: The New York Times'' Appeal to Voters in 2016." Alison Block. [Student essay]. Invention. Point of Contact. Analysis. Public Resonance. Thesis. Rhetorical Tools. Revision. Caution: Four Common Pitfalls. Reflection. Beyond the Essay. 7. Analyzing Images. Readings. "Rise of the Image Culture: Re-Imagining the American Dream," Elizabeth Thoman. "An Imperfect Reality," Rebecca Hollingsworth. "Look on My Works: Breaking Bad''s Final Season Trailer," Nick Fendinger. [Student essay]. Invention. Point of Contact. Analysis. Thesis. Rhetorical Tools. Revision. Reflection. Beyond the Essay. 8. Making Arguments. Readings. "The Dog Delusion," April Pedersen. "Cruelty, Civility, and Other Weighty Matters," Ann Marie Paulin. "Hive Talkin'': The Buzz Around Town about Bees," Teresa Scollon. Invention. Point of Contact. Analysis. Public Resonance. Thesis. Rhetorical Tools. Revision. Reflection. Beyond the Essay: The Open Letter. 9. Responding to Arguments. Readings. "Entitlement Education," Daniel Bruno. "''Have It Your Way'': Consumerism Invades Education," Simon Benlow. "The Power of Failure: J.K. Rowling''s 2008 Harvard Commencement Speech," Liz Winhover. Invention. Point of Contact. Analysis. Public Resonance. Thesis. Rhetorical Tools. Revision. Reflection. Beyond the Essay: Tattoo Design. 10. Evaluating. Readings. "Talibanned," Benjamin Busch. "Important and Flawed," Kareem Abdul-Jabbar. "Star Trek: Where No Man Has Gone Before," Jaren Provo. [Student essay.] Invention. Point of Contact. Analysis. Public Resonance. Thesis. Rhetorical Tools. Revision. Reflection. Beyond the Essay: Classroom Evaluations. 11. Searching for Causes. Readings. "Is Google Making Us Stupid?" Nicholas Carr. "Why We Binge-Watch Television," Kevin Fallon. "Why Millennials Are Weak," Quinn Greenwell. Invention. Point of Contact. Analysis. Public Resonance. Thesis. Rhetorical Tools. Revision. Reflection. Beyond the Essay: Photo Essay. 12. Proposing Solutions. Readings. "Hi, I''m a Digital Junkie and I Suffer from Infomania," Manoush Zomorodi. "Your Kids Bored at School? Tell Them to Get Over It," Laura Hanby Hudgens. "Different Jobs," Dana Stewart. Invention. Point of Contact. Analysis. Public Resonance. Thesis. Rhetorical Tools. Revision. Reflection. Beyond the Essay: Comic Strips and Other Media. 13. Thinking Radically: Re-Seeing the World. Readings. "Celibate Passion," Kathleen Norris. "Build the Wall," Ed Bell. "Unemployed, and Working Hard," Simon Wykoff [Student essay]. Invention. Point of Contact. Analysis. Public Resonance. Thesis. Rhetorical Tools. Revision. Reflection. Beyond the Essay: Visual Essay / Collage / Poster. Part II: RESEARCH. 14. Finding Sources. Using Catalogs and Databases. Online Catalogs. Periodical Databases. Conducting Interviews. Planning an Interview. Asking the Right Questions. Integrating Interviews into Your Writing. Creating Surveys. Generating Questions. Choosing Respondents. Recording and Using Responses. 15. Analyzing, Synthesizing, and Evaluating Sources. Developing Critical Literacy. "Just the Facts, Please"--or Maybe Not. "Numbers Don''t Lie"--or Do They? Summarizing and Analyzing Sources. Content. Context. Understanding Common Source Genres. Synthesizing Sources. Assignment: Summarizing, Analyzing, and Synthesizing Sources. Sample Synthesis: Exploring Caffeine Views, by Jim Crockett. Evaluating Sources. Relevance. Reliability. Credibility. Timeliness. Diversity. Evaluating Online Sources. Assignment: Evaluating a Source. Sample Source Evaluation. 16. Integrating and Documenting Sources. Basic Concepts. Issues to Consider and Discuss. Why Get Information from Sources? When to Get Information from Sources. What Is Inventive Research? Where to Get Information from Sources. What Is Plagiarism? Why Document Sources? What''s a Good Research Topic? Formal versus Informal Documentation. Integrating Ideas from Sources. Summary. Quotation. Special Conditions in Quoting. Organizing Sources. Blending in the Source Information. Documenting Sources. MLA Style. In-Text Citation. Works Cited. Sample Research Essay. APA Style. In-Text Citation. References. Sample Research Essay. Part III: ORGANIZATION AND DELIVERY. 17. Organizing Ideas. Beginning. Changing Paragraphs. Integrating Outside Sources. Counterarguing. Separating Problems and Solutions. Concluding. 18. Developing Voice. Establishing Presence. Building Credibility. Following Conventions. 19. Vitalizing Sentences. Controlling the Pace. Getting Specific. Cleaning the Language. Experimenting with Patterns. Part IV: ANTHOLOGY. 20. Everyday Rhetoric. Remembering. "A Beat Education," Leonard Kress. "The Grapes of Mrs. Rath," Steve Mockensturm. Explaining Relationships. "What the Honey Meant," Cindy Bosley. "Dog-Tied," David Hawes. Observing. "Onward, Gamers, Onward!" Royce Flores. "The Farm on the Hill," Evan Proudfoot. Analyzing Concepts. "Why We No Longer Use the ''H'' Word," Dan Wilkins. "This Is What a Feminist Looks Like," Barack Obama. Analyzing Texts and Images. "Cartoons ''n Comics: Communication to the Quick," Joy Clough. "Protests with the Mostest: The Art of Opposition Through Protest Signs," Deanna Krokos. Making Arguments. "Internet Addiction," Greg Beato. "Trees Please," Michael Rust. Responding to Arguments. "Military Fraud: The Myth of Automatic Virtue," Steve Gillman. "Crimes Against Humanity," Ward Churchill. Evaluating. "Revealing the Ugly Cartoonish Truth: The Simpsons," Simon Benlow. "The Parting Breath of the Now-Perfect Woman," Chester McCovey. Searching for Causes. "Are Female Long-Distance Runners More Prone to Suicidal Depression?" Emily de la Bruyere. "American Consumerism," Jamie Benley. Proposing Solutions. "Technology, Movement, and Sound," Ed Bell. "Reverence for Food," Rachel Schofield. Thinking Radically. "Not Homeschooling? What''s Your Excuse?" Tricia Smith Vaughn. "Why Tough Teachers Get Good Results," Joanne Lipman. "An Apology to Future Generations," Simon Benlow."

Informations sur le produit

Titre: I am David
Auteur:
Code EAN: 9781405288736
ISBN: 978-1-4052-8873-6
Format: Couverture cartonnée
Editeur: Egmont Childrens Books
Genre: Enfants et adolescents
nombre de pages: 190
Poids: 226g
Taille: H198mm x B129mm x T17mm
Année: 2018

Évaluations

Vue d’ensemble

Mes évaluations

Évaluez cet article