Bienvenue chez nous!
Logo Ex Libris

Far from Home

  • Couverture cartonnée
  • 288 Nombre de pages
(0) Donner la première évaluation
Évaluations
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Afficher toutes les évaluations
When she finds herself pregnant Jo decides to leave everything behind and take a job as a waitress in a remote mountain diner but,... Lire la suite
CHF 17.50
Habituellement expédié sous 2 à 3 semaines.

Description

When she finds herself pregnant Jo decides to leave everything behind and take a job as a waitress in a remote mountain diner but, after hearing the stories of various patrons, she realizes she must come to terms with her past and take control of her future.

#8220;A gorgeous novel of coincidence and redemption, FAR FROM HOME will change the way you interact with strangers.”

Auteur

Anne DeGrace is a librarian, journalist, writer, illustrator, volunteer, mother, and multitasker. She lives in the mountains near Nelson, British Columbia.



Texte du rabat

After a shocking family betrayal and an unexpected pregnancy, Jo leaves home,college, and everything she knows. Far from home, she finds her way to Cass'sRoadside Café, an isolated diner on a mountain pass. Cass's seems as good aplace as any for Jo to get her bearings, as near to nowhere as it is possible to be. Here, Jo finds a rough sort of kindness in diner regulars such as Archie, a long-haul trucker, and Bob, a cop with a secret. But Cass's is also a way station through which an odd assortment of travelers blow: the water witcher, coming to terms with a talent he'd denied; the old woman who expected to die, and didn't; and the hippie whose rule of the road is to let the wind blow him where it will. The stories of these strangers open Jo's eyes to life lessons, and what it really means to follow your heart—and, ultimately, give Jo the strength to face her past, and find the direction she needs to step into her future.



Résumé

“A gorgeous novel of coincidence and redemption….A story that will impact our own lives profoundly.”
—Katrina Kittle, author of The Kindness of Strangers

A wonderful new literary voice in the vein of A. Manette Ansay, Ami McKay, and Joanne Harris, Anne DeGrace makes her U.S. debut with Far From Home—a thoughtful and lovely novel about the chance encounters that can change our lives forever. Paulette Jiles, the New York Times bestselling author of Enemy Women, calls Anne DeGrace “a gifted story teller” and Far From Home “thoroughly enjoyable.” The story of a lost teenager who finds herself in a diner in the middle of nowhere, Far From Home is superb introduction for U.S readers to a talented writer who has already made a splash in her native Canada.

Informations sur le produit

Titre: Far from Home
Auteur:
Code EAN: 9780061728808
ISBN: 978-0-06-172880-8
Format: Couverture cartonnée
Editeur: Harper Collins (US)
Genre: Romans et récits
nombre de pages: 288
Poids: 218g
Taille: H203mm x B147mm x T18mm
Année: 2009

Évaluations

Vue d’ensemble

Mes évaluations

Évaluez cet article