Bienvenue chez nous!
Logo Ex Libris

Far from Home
Anne DeGrace

When she finds herself pregnant Jo decides to leave everything behind and take a job as a waitress in a remote mountain diner but,... Lire la suite
Couverture cartonnée, 288 Nombre de pages  Plus d'informations
CHF 17.50
Habituellement expédié sous 2 à 3 semaines.

Description

When she finds herself pregnant Jo decides to leave everything behind and take a job as a waitress in a remote mountain diner but, after hearing the stories of various patrons, she realizes she must come to terms with her past and take control of her future.

#8220;A gorgeous novel of coincidence and redemption, FAR FROM HOME will change the way you interact with strangers.”

Auteur

Anne DeGrace is a librarian, journalist, writer, illustrator, volunteer, mother, and multitasker. She lives in the mountains near Nelson, British Columbia.



Texte du rabat

After a shocking family betrayal and an unexpected pregnancy, Jo leaves home,college, and everything she knows. Far from home, she finds her way to Cass'sRoadside Café, an isolated diner on a mountain pass. Cass's seems as good aplace as any for Jo to get her bearings, as near to nowhere as it is possible to be. Here, Jo finds a rough sort of kindness in diner regulars such as Archie, a long-haul trucker, and Bob, a cop with a secret. But Cass's is also a way station through which an odd assortment of travelers blow: the water witcher, coming to terms with a talent he'd denied; the old woman who expected to die, and didn't; and the hippie whose rule of the road is to let the wind blow him where it will. The stories of these strangers open Jo's eyes to life lessons, and what it really means to follow your heart—and, ultimately, give Jo the strength to face her past, and find the direction she needs to step into her future.



Résumé

“A gorgeous novel of coincidence and redemption….A story that will impact our own lives profoundly.”
—Katrina Kittle, author of The Kindness of Strangers

A wonderful new literary voice in the vein of A. Manette Ansay, Ami McKay, and Joanne Harris, Anne DeGrace makes her U.S. debut with Far From Home—a thoughtful and lovely novel about the chance encounters that can change our lives forever. Paulette Jiles, the New York Times bestselling author of Enemy Women, calls Anne DeGrace “a gifted story teller” and Far From Home “thoroughly enjoyable.” The story of a lost teenager who finds herself in a diner in the middle of nowhere, Far From Home is superb introduction for U.S readers to a talented writer who has already made a splash in her native Canada.

Détails sur le produit

Titre: Far from Home
Auteur: Anne DeGrace
Code EAN: 9780061728808
ISBN: 978-0-06-172880-8
Format: Couverture cartonnée
Editeur: Harper Collins (US)
Genre: Romans et récits
nombre de pages: 288
Poids: 218g
Taille: H203mm x B147mm x T18mm
Année: 2009

Disponibilité en succursale

NPA, Lieu, Nom Aucun résultat n'a été trouvé. Veuillez indiquer un NPA ou une localité valide. Veuillez indiquer un NPA ou une localité. Cet article est disponible dans NUMBER succursale(s) Cet article n’est actuellement disponible que dans la boutique en ligne. NUMBER ex. disponibles Etat du stock actuellement indisponible. Carte détaillée Detailkarte in einem neuen Fenster anzeigen Itinéraire Route in einem neuen Fenster berechnen Adresse Téléphone Heures d’ouverture NUMBER ex. disponibles Pas en stock Trouvez la succursale la plus proche Il n'y a pas des magasins dans 20 km large
  • Saisissez dans le champ de recherche le NPA, la localité ou le nom d’une succursale
  • Cliquez sur la flèche à droite du champ de recherche
  • Sélectionnez une succursale dans la liste des résultats

Trouvez la succursale la plus proche avec votre mobile Lundi Mardi Mercredi Jeudi Vendredi Samedi Dimanche
Trouvez la succursale la plus proche
  • Saisissez dans le champ de recherche le NPA, la localité ou le nom d’une succursale
  • Cliquez sur la flèche à droite du champ de recherche
  • Sélectionnez une succursale dans la liste des résultats

Trouvez la succursale la plus proche avec votre mobile
Vus récemment
Effacer l’historique