Bienvenue chez nous!
Logo Ex Libris

The Space Between the Stars

  • Couverture cartonnée
  • 401 Nombre de pages
(0) Donner la première évaluation
Évaluations
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Afficher toutes les évaluations
A novel of love, loss and second chances from debut novelist Anne Corlett, perfect for fans of Emily St John Mandel's Station... Lire la suite
CHF 14.50
Habituellement expédié sous 4 à 5 jours ouvrés.

Description

A novel of love, loss and second chances from debut novelist Anne Corlett, perfect for fans of Emily St John Mandel's Station Eleven.

The Space between the Stars by Anne Corlett is an enthralling novel of love, the choices we make, and what it means to be human. It's also a dramatic road-trip across the stars, as a woman journeys across a plague-ravaged universe to the place she once called home, and the man she once loved. How far would you travel to find your way home? Jamie Allenby wakes, alone, and realizes her fever has broken. But could everyone she knows be dead? Months earlier, Jamie had left her partner Daniel, mourning the miscarriage of their baby. She'd just had to get away, so took a job on a distant planet. Then the virus hit. Jamie survived as it swept through our far-flung colonies. Now she feels desperate and isolated, until she receives a garbled message from Earth. If someone from her past is still alive - perhaps Daniel - she knows she must find a way to return. She meets others seeking Earth, and their ill-matched group will travel across space to achieve their dream. But they'll clash with survivors intent on repeating humanity's past mistakes, threatening their precious fresh start. Jamie will also get a second chance at happiness. But can she escape her troubled past, to embrace a hopeful future?

The Space Between The Stars is for me, at least this year's Station Eleven . . . it spoke straight to my heart and unstrung it, leaving me crying quietly on an aeroplane . . . Like Station Eleven, this is a story that uses a SF conceit to explore human nature rather than a story that is interested in its SF trappings

Auteur
Anne Corlett has an MA in Creative Writing from Bath Spa University and has won a number of awards for her short stories, including the H. E. Bates Award. She works as a criminal solicitor and freelance writer, and lives with her partner and three young boys in Somerset. The Space Between The Stars is her first novel.

Texte du rabat

HOW FAR WOULD YOU TRAVEL
TO FIND YOUR WAY HOME?

Jamie Allenby wakes as her fever subsides, finding herself alone. Wondering if everyone else is dead, she searches the farm where she works and fears the worst.

Jamie had taken a job as a vet on this distant planet to heal, after leaving her partner Daniel. Then a lethal virus swept through all humanity's worlds. Now Jamie feels desperately isolated until she receives a garbled message from Earth. If someone from her past is still alive, she knows she must return. She meets refugees seeking the same destination, who'll also risk deep space to fulfil their dreams. However, they are soon pit against other; hostile, survivors.

On this dangerous journey, Jamie gets a second chance at happiness. But can she escape her past to embrace a hopeful future? 'An original thinker and a very, very effective writer' FAY WELDON 'An impressively strong debut . . . rewards the reader with real
characters, strong emotional beats, and a fantastic journey' THE BOOK BAG



Résumé

The Space between the Stars by Anne Corlett is an enthralling novel of love, the choices we make, and what it means to be human. It's also a dramatic road-trip across the stars, as a woman journeys across a plague-ravaged universe to the place she once called home, and the man she once loved.

How far would you travel to find your way home?

Jamie Allenby wakes, alone, and realizes her fever has broken. But could everyone she knows be dead? Months earlier, Jamie had left her partner Daniel, mourning the miscarriage of their baby. She'd just had to get away, so took a job on a distant planet. Then the virus hit.

Jamie survived as it swept through our far-flung colonies. Now she feels desperate and isolated, until she receives a garbled message from Earth. If someone from her past is still alive perhaps Daniel she knows she must find a way to return.

She meets others seeking Earth, and their ill-matched group will travel across space to achieve their dream. But they'll clash with survivors intent on repeating humanity's past mistakes, threatening their precious fresh start. Jamie will also get a second chance at happiness. But can she escape her troubled past, to embrace a hopeful future?

Informations sur le produit

Titre: The Space Between the Stars
Auteur:
Code EAN: 9781509833559
ISBN: 1509833552
Format: Couverture cartonnée
Genre: Science fiction et fantaisie
nombre de pages: 401
Poids: 292g
Taille: H198mm x B131mm x T29mm
Année: 2018
Auflage: Main Market Ed.

Évaluations

Vue d’ensemble

Mes évaluations

Évaluez cet article