Bienvenue chez nous!
Logo Ex Libris

The Space Between the Stars
Anne Corlett

A novel of love, loss and second chances from debut novelist Anne Corlett, perfect for fans of Emily St John Mandel's Station Elev... Lire la suite
Couverture cartonnée, 401 Nombre de pages  Plus d'informations
CHF 14.50
Habituellement expédié sous 4 à 5 jours ouvrés.

Description

A novel of love, loss and second chances from debut novelist Anne Corlett, perfect for fans of Emily St John Mandel's Station Eleven.

The Space between the Stars by Anne Corlett is an enthralling novel of love, the choices we make, and what it means to be human. It's also a dramatic road-trip across the stars, as a woman journeys across a plague-ravaged universe to the place she once called home, and the man she once loved. How far would you travel to find your way home? Jamie Allenby wakes, alone, and realizes her fever has broken. But could everyone she knows be dead? Months earlier, Jamie had left her partner Daniel, mourning the miscarriage of their baby. She'd just had to get away, so took a job on a distant planet. Then the virus hit. Jamie survived as it swept through our far-flung colonies. Now she feels desperate and isolated, until she receives a garbled message from Earth. If someone from her past is still alive - perhaps Daniel - she knows she must find a way to return. She meets others seeking Earth, and their ill-matched group will travel across space to achieve their dream. But they'll clash with survivors intent on repeating humanity's past mistakes, threatening their precious fresh start. Jamie will also get a second chance at happiness. But can she escape her troubled past, to embrace a hopeful future?

The Space Between The Stars is for me, at least this year's Station Eleven . . . it spoke straight to my heart and unstrung it, leaving me crying quietly on an aeroplane . . . Like Station Eleven, this is a story that uses a SF conceit to explore human nature rather than a story that is interested in its SF trappings

Auteur
Anne Corlett has an MA in Creative Writing from Bath Spa University and has won a number of awards for her short stories, including the H. E. Bates Award. She works as a criminal solicitor and freelance writer, and lives with her partner and three young boys in Somerset. The Space Between The Stars is her first novel.

Texte du rabat

HOW FAR WOULD YOU TRAVEL
TO FIND YOUR WAY HOME?

Jamie Allenby wakes as her fever subsides, finding herself alone. Wondering if everyone else is dead, she searches the farm where she works and fears the worst.

Jamie had taken a job as a vet on this distant planet to heal, after leaving her partner Daniel. Then a lethal virus swept through all humanity's worlds. Now Jamie feels desperately isolated until she receives a garbled message from Earth. If someone from her past is still alive, she knows she must return. She meets refugees seeking the same destination, who'll also risk deep space to fulfil their dreams. However, they are soon pit against other; hostile, survivors.

On this dangerous journey, Jamie gets a second chance at happiness. But can she escape her past to embrace a hopeful future? 'An original thinker and a very, very effective writer' FAY WELDON 'An impressively strong debut . . . rewards the reader with real
characters, strong emotional beats, and a fantastic journey' THE BOOK BAG

Détails sur le produit

Titre: The Space Between the Stars
Auteur: Anne Corlett
Code EAN: 9781509833559
ISBN: 1509833552
Format: Couverture cartonnée
Genre: Science fiction et fantaisie
nombre de pages: 401
Poids: 292g
Taille: H198mm x B131mm x T29mm
Année: 2018
Auflage: Main Market Ed.

Disponibilité en succursale

NPA, Lieu, Nom Aucun résultat n'a été trouvé. Veuillez indiquer un NPA ou une localité valide. Veuillez indiquer un NPA ou une localité. Cet article est disponible dans NUMBER succursale(s) Cet article n’est actuellement disponible que dans la boutique en ligne. NUMBER ex. disponibles Etat du stock actuellement indisponible. Carte détaillée Detailkarte in einem neuen Fenster anzeigen Itinéraire Route in einem neuen Fenster berechnen Adresse Téléphone Heures d’ouverture NUMBER ex. disponibles Pas en stock Trouvez la succursale la plus proche Il n'y a pas des magasins dans 20 km large
  • Saisissez dans le champ de recherche le NPA, la localité ou le nom d’une succursale
  • Cliquez sur la flèche à droite du champ de recherche
  • Sélectionnez une succursale dans la liste des résultats

Trouvez la succursale la plus proche avec votre mobile Lundi Mardi Mercredi Jeudi Vendredi Samedi Dimanche
Trouvez la succursale la plus proche
  • Saisissez dans le champ de recherche le NPA, la localité ou le nom d’une succursale
  • Cliquez sur la flèche à droite du champ de recherche
  • Sélectionnez une succursale dans la liste des résultats

Trouvez la succursale la plus proche avec votre mobile
Vus récemment
Effacer l’historique