Willkommen, schön sind Sie da!
Logo Ex Libris

The Storyteller

  • Kartonierter Einband
  • 469 Seiten
(0) Erste Bewertung abgeben
Bewertungen
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Alle Bewertungen ansehen
From Germany to Beirut, the Storyteller follows the turbulent search of a son for a father whose heart has never stopped yearning ... Weiterlesen
CHF 21.50
Auslieferung erfolgt in der Regel innert 2 bis 4 Wochen.
Bestellung & Lieferung in eine Filiale möglich

Beschreibung

From Germany to Beirut, the Storyteller follows the turbulent search of a son for a father whose heart has never stopped yearning for his homeland, Lebanon.

For readers of Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner comes a "pacy Lebanese mystery. A man is haunted by his father's disappearance in this acclaimed debut novel set against the backdrop of Middle Eastern politics" -The Guardian Samir leaves the safety and comfort of his family's adopted home, Germany, for volatile Beirut in an attempt to find his missing father. The only clues Samir has are an old photo and the bedtime stories his father used to tell him. In this moving and engaging novel about family secrets, love, and friendship, Pierre Jarawan does for Lebanon what Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner did for Afghanistan. He pulls away the curtain of grim facts and figures portrayed in the media and shows an intimate truth of what it means to come from a country torn apart by civil war. With this beautiful and suspenseful story, full of images, Jarawan proves to be a masterful storyteller himself. Pierre Jarawan is the son of a Lebanese father and a German mother and moved to Germany with his family at the age of three. Inspired by his father's love of telling imaginative bedtime stories, he started writing at the age of thirteen. He has won international prizes as a slam poet, received the City of Munich literary scholarship (the Bayerische Kunstförderpreis) for The Storyteller, and was chosen as Literature Star of the Year by the daily newspaper AZ. His debut novel The Storyteller was a Spiegel bestseller in Germany, proclaimed Book of the Month by the leading Dutch television talk show DWDD, and received unanimous rave reviews from the European press.

Autorentext

Pierre Jarawan was born in 1985 to a Lebanese father and a German mother and moved to Germany with his family at the age of three. Inspired by his father's love of telling imaginative bedtime stories, he started writing at the age of thirteen. He has won international prizes as a slam poet, received the City of Munich literary scholarship (the Bayerische Kunstförderpreis) for The Storyteller, and was chosen as Literature Star of the Year by the daily newspaper AZ.



Klappentext

Samir leaves the safety and comfort of his family's adopted home in Germany for volatile Beirut in an attempt to find his missing father. His only clues are an old photo and the bedtime stories his father used to tell him. The Storyteller follows Samir's turbulent search for Brahim, the father whose heart was always yearning for his homeland, Lebanon. In this moving and gripping novel about family secrets, love, and friendship, Pierre Jarawan does for Lebanon what Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner did for Afghanistan. He pulls away the curtain of grim facts and figures to reveal the intimate story of an exiled family torn apart by civil war and guilt. In this rich and skillful account, Jarawan himself proves to be a masterful storyteller.



Zusammenfassung
Follows Samir's search for Brahim, the father whose heart was always yearning for his homeland, Lebanon.

Produktinformationen

Titel: The Storyteller
Autor:
Übersetzer:
EAN: 9781642860115
ISBN: 978-1-64286-011-5
Format: Kartonierter Einband
Herausgeber: Ingram Publishers Services
Genre: Romane & Erzählungen
Anzahl Seiten: 469
Gewicht: 612g
Größe: H216mm x B142mm x T35mm
Jahr: 2019