Willkommen, schön sind Sie da!
Logo Ex Libris

Glow

  • Kartonierter Einband
  • 336 Seiten
" A breathtaking Georgia-mountain epic about the complex bond of mothers and daughters across a century. In the autumn of 1941, Am... Weiterlesen
CHF 18.50
Auslieferung erfolgt in der Regel innert 2 bis 3 Wochen.

Beschreibung

" A breathtaking Georgia-mountain epic about the complex bond of mothers and daughters across a century. In the autumn of 1941, Amelia J. McGee, a young woman of Cherokee and Scotch-Irish descent, and an outspoken pamphleteer for the NAACP, hastily sends her daughter, Ella, alone on a bus home to Georgia in the middle of the night-a desperate action that is met with dire consequences when the child encounters two drifters and is left for dead on the side of the road. Ella awakens to find herself in thehomestead of Willie Mae Cotton, a wise hoodoo practitioner and former slave, and her partner, Mary-Mary Freeborn, tucked deep in the Takatoka forest. As Ella begins to heal, the legacies of her lineage are revealed. Glow transports us from Washington, D.C., on the brink of World War II to 1836 and into the mountain coves of Hopewell County, Georgia, full of ghosts both real and imagined. Illuminating the tragedy of human frailty, the power of friendship and hope, and the fiercest of all human bonds-mother love-this stunning debut will appeal to readers of both Sue Monk Kidd's The Secret Life of Bees and Amy Green's Bloodroot"--

ldquo;Fans of The Help, this one´s for you: A tale of ghosts, slavery, racism and redemption wrapped up in an epic testament to the power of maternal love.” —Ladies´ Home Journal

“With Glow, Jessica Maria Tuccelli has brought our Southern past to visceral and gorgeous life. Prepare to be drenched in the fierce humanity of her characters, bewitched by the powerful music of their voices and seared by the beauty and tragedy of their stories.” —Hillary Jordan, author of When She Woke and Mudbound

Glow is a beautifully wrought debut novel about magic, nature, history and the undying bonds of mother love. Jessica Maria Tuccelli is a remarkable new writer to watch.” —Amy Greene, author of Bloodroot

Glow is one of the strangest and most original first novels I´ve ever read—linguistically complex, vivid, and inventive. I can´t think of another book even remotely like it, with the possible exception of Eudora Welty´s The Robber Bridegroom. Jessica Maria Tuccelli takes enormous risks in her book, which pay off in subtle and interesting rewards. We´ll be hearing a lot more about this writer.” —Mark Childress, author of Georgia Bottoms and Crazy in Alabama

“Ms. Tuccelli has rendered a novel of such precise honesty that it casts its own bright incandescence upon its readers. The language is varied and musical throughout, and the characters as recognizable as one´s family. I will care about these people for years to come.” —Mark Spragg, author of An Unfinished Life and Bone Fire



Autorentext
Jessica Maria Tuccelli is a graduate of MIT. She currently resides in New York City. Glow is her first novel.

Zusammenfassung
October 1941. Eleven-year-old Ella McGee sits on a bus bound for her Southern hometown. Behind her in Washington, D.C., lie the broken pieces of her parents’ love story—a black father drafted, an activist mother of Scotch-Irish and Cherokee descent confronting racist thugs. But Ella’s journey is just beginning when she reaches Hopewell County, and her disappearance into the Georgia mountains will unfurl a rich tapestry of family secrets spanning a century. Told in five unforgettable voices, Glow reaches back through the generations, from the eve of World War II to the Blue Ridge frontier of 1836, where slave plantations adjoin the haunted glades of a razed Cherokee Nation. Out of these characters’ lives evolves a drama that is at once intimately human and majestic in its power to call upon the great themes of our time—race, identity, and the bonds of family and community.
 
Lushly conceived, cinematically detailed, and epic in historical scope, Glow announces an extraordinary new voice in Southern fiction.

Produktinformationen

Titel: Glow
Untertitel: A Novel
Autor:
EAN: 9780143122920
ISBN: 978-0-14-312292-0
Format: Kartonierter Einband
Herausgeber: Random House N.Y.
Genre: Romane & Erzählungen
Anzahl Seiten: 336
Gewicht: 263g
Größe: H213mm x B139mm x T18mm
Jahr: 2013