Willkommen, schön sind Sie da!
Logo Ex Libris

The Complete Saki

  • Kartonierter Einband
  • 960 Seiten
(0) Erste Bewertung abgeben
Alle Bewertungen ansehen
This omnibus edition contains the author's short stories, novels, and plays.H.H. Munro, also known by his pseudonym Saki (1870-191... Weiterlesen
CHF 25.50
Auslieferung erfolgt in der Regel innert 2 bis 3 Wochen.


This omnibus edition contains the author's short stories, novels, and plays.

H.H. Munro, also known by his pseudonym Saki (1870-1916), was a prolific Scottish author of the Edwardian era. He wrote The Chronicles of Clovis, When William Came: A Story of London Under the Hohenzollerns, and Complete Stories and Novels Of Saki. At age 44, Munro volunteered as a soldier during World War I, enlisting in the 22nd Battalion, Royal Fusiliers. He wrote a number of short stories from the trenches.

The complete works of one of England´s greatest Edwardian writers

Saki is perhaps the most graceful spokesman for England´s ´Golden Afternoon´ - the slow and peaceful years before the First World War. Although, like so many of his generation, he died tragically young, in action on the Western Front, his reputation as a writer continued to grow long after his death. His work is humorous, satiric, supernatural, and macabre, highly individual, full of eccentric wit and unconventional situations. With his great gift as a social satirist of his contemporary upper-class Edwardian world, Saki is one of the few undisputed English masters of the short story and one of the great writers of a bygone era.

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.


Reginald on Christmas Presents
Reginald on the Academy
Reginald at the Theatre
Reginald´s Peace Poem
Reginald´s Choir Treat
Reginald on Worries
Reginald on House-Parties
Reginald at the Carlton
Reginald on Besetting Sins
Reginald´s Drama
Reginald on Tariffs
Reginald´s Christmas Revel
Reginald´s Rubaiyat
The Innocence ofReginald

Reginald in Russia
Reginald in Russia
The Reticence of Lady Anne
The Lost Sanjak
The Sex That Doesn´t Shop
The Blood-Feud of Toad-Water
A Young Turkish Catastrophe
Judkin of the Parcels
The Saint and the Goblin
The Soul of Laploshka
The Bag
The Strategist
Cross Currents
The Baker´s Dozen
The Mouse

The Chronicles of Clovis
The Match-Maker
Mrs. Packletide´s Tiger
The Stampeding of Lady Bastable
The Background
Hermann the Irascible - A Story of the Great Weep
The Unrest-Cure
The Jesting of Arlington Stringham
Sredni Vashtar
The Chaplet
The Quest
The Easter Egg
Filboid Studge, the Story of a Mouse That Helped
The Music on the Hill
The Story of St. Vespaluus
The Way to the Dairy
The Peace Offering
The Peace of Mowsle Barton
The Talking-Out of Tarrington
The Hounds of Fate
The Recessional
A Matter of Sentiment
The Secret Sin of Septimus Brope
"Ministers of Grace"
The Remoulding of Groby Lington

Beasts and Super-Beasts
The She-Wolf
The Boar-Pig
The Brogue
The Hen
The Open Window
The Treasure-Ship
The Cobweb
The Lull
The Unkindest Blow
The Romancers
The Schartz-Metterklume Method
The Seventh Pullet
The Blind Spot
A Touch of Realism
Cousin Teresa
The Yarkand Manner
The Byzantine Omelette
The Feast of Nemesis
The Dreamer
The Quince Tree
The Forbidden Buzzards
The Stake
Clovis on Parental Responsibilities
A Holiday Task
The Stalled Ox
The Story-Teller
A Defensive Diamond
The Elk
"Down Pens"
The Name-Day
The Lumber Room
The Philanthropist and the Happy Cat
On Approval

The Toys of Peace
The Toys of Peace
The Disappearance of Crispina Umberleigh
The Wolves of Cernogratz
The Guests
The Penance
The Phantom Luncheon
A Bread and Butter Miss
Bertie´s Christmas Eve
The Interlopers
Quail Seed
The Threat
Excepting Mrs. Pentherby
The Hedgehog
The Mappined Life
The Bull
Shock Tactics
The Seven Cream Jugs
The Occasional Garden
The Sheep
The Oversight
The Image of the Lost Soul
The Purple of the Balkan Kings
The Cupboard of the Yesterdays
For the Duration of the War

The Square Egg
The Square Egg
Birds on the Western Front
The Gala Programme
The Infernal Parliament
The Achievement of the Cat
The Old Town of Pskoff
Clovis on the Alleged Romance of Business
The Comments of Moung Ka


The Unbearable Bassington
When William Came
The Westminster Alice


The Death-Trap
Karl-Ludwig´s Window
The Watched Pot


Titel: The Complete Saki
EAN: 9780141180786
ISBN: 978-0-14-118078-6
Format: Kartonierter Einband
Herausgeber: Random House N.Y.
Genre: Romane & Erzählungen
Anzahl Seiten: 960
Gewicht: 599g
Größe: H197mm x B130mm x T39mm
Jahr: 1998
Auflage: Revised.