Willkommen, schön sind Sie da!
Logo Ex Libris

Trouble No Man

  • Kartonierter Einband
  • 480 Seiten
(0) Erste Bewertung abgeben
Bewertungen
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Alle Bewertungen ansehen
#8220;As a social critique, it’s interesting, as a character-portrait, Faulknerian….a future disturbingly close to the... Weiterlesen
CHF 18.50
Auslieferung erfolgt in der Regel innert 2 bis 3 Wochen.

Beschreibung

#8220;As a social critique, it’s interesting, as a character-portrait, Faulknerian….a future disturbingly close to the present.”

Autorentext

A native of Idaho, Brian Hart won the Keener Prize for Literature from the University of Texas at Austin and received an MFA from the Michener Center for Writers there. He is the author of the novel Then Came the Evening. His second novel, The Bully of Order, was a finalist for the Chautauqua Prize. He lives in Idaho with his wife and daughter.



Klappentext

In the America of the near future, California has become a desolate wasteland controlled by violent separatist militias and marked by a lack of water and fuel. In a village outside Reno, Nevada, a middle-aged man visits an undertaker and gathers the ashes of his dead wife to bring to Alaska, where their children await. To reach them, the man must go north by bike across a treacherous, violent landscape, his dog his only companion.

Thirty years earlier, we meet Roy Bingham. After a rough-and-tumble childhood, Roy numbs himself with skateboarding, drugs, and sex. Then he meets Karen Oronski. Sassy, soulful, and arresting, Karen pulls Roy into her orbit until she decides to give up their nomadic lifestyle and put down roots in her hometown of Loyalton, California. Roy buckles under the commitment, and after a boozy night in Reno, he leaves Karen for the road and skateboarding.

Flashing back and forth in time across four decades in the life of a man who is lost even when he’s found, Trouble No Man delivers a resonant story of survival and family, set against the tumult of an America on the precipice of becoming an unfree nation.



Zusammenfassung

American War meets Into the Wild in Brian Hart’s epic saga of one man’s struggle to survive a hostile world—tracing his path from a self-destructive, skateboarding youth in the 90s to the near future as he journeys across a desolate, militia-controlled American West to find his missing family—perfect for fans of Edan Lepuki and Cormac McCarthy.

In the America of a near future, northern California and the Pacific Northwest have become a desolate wasteland controlled by violent separatist militias and marked by a lack of water and fuel. In a village outside Reno, a middle-aged man visits an undertaker and gathers the ashes of his dead wife to bring to Alaska. There, their children await them—refugees from the destruction of the south. To reach his only remaining family, the man must cross the treacherous, violent landscape north by bike, his dog his only companion.

Thirty years earlier, we meet Roy Bingham. After a rough-and-tumble childhood, Roy is numbing himself with skateboarding, drugs, and sex, when he meets Karen. Sassy, soulful, and arresting, Karen pulls Roy into her orbit until she decides to give up their nomadic lifestyle to put down roots in her hometown of Loyalton, California. Roy’s fidelity buckles under the commitment and after a boozy night in Reno he leaves Karen for the road and skateboarding.

Flashing back and forth in time across four decades in the life of a man who is lost even when he’s found, Trouble No Man delivers a resonant story of survival, violence, and family, set against the tumult of an America on the precipice of becoming an unfree nation.

 

Produktinformationen

Titel: Trouble No Man
Autor:
EAN: 9780062698322
ISBN: 978-0-06-269832-2
Format: Kartonierter Einband
Herausgeber: Harper Collins (US)
Genre: Romane & Erzählungen
Anzahl Seiten: 480
Jahr: 2019