Willkommen, schön sind Sie da!
Logo Ex Libris

Unorthodox

  • E-Book (epub)
  • 272 Seiten
(0) Erste Bewertung abgeben
Bewertungen
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Alle Bewertungen ansehen
(2) LovelyBooks.de Bewertung
LovelyBooks.de Bewertung
(1)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
powered by 
The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish womans escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hir... Weiterlesen
E-Books ganz einfach mit der kostenlosen Ex Libris-Reader-App lesen. Hier erhalten Sie Ihren Download-Link.
CHF 12.25
Download steht sofort bereit
Informationen zu E-Books
E-Books eignen sich auch für mobile Geräte (sehen Sie dazu die Anleitungen).
E-Books von Ex Libris sind mit Adobe DRM kopiergeschützt: Erfahren Sie mehr.
Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Beschreibung

The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish womans escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Alis Infidel and Carolyn Jessops Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. It was stolen moments spent with the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott that helped her to imagine an alternative way of life. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborahs desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, for the sake of herself and her son, she had to escape.

Autorentext

Deborah Feldman



Klappentext

The instant bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman's escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali's Infidel and Carolyn Jessop's Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.

As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. It was stolen moments spent with the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott that helped her to imagine an alternative way of life. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah's desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, for the sake of herself and her son, she had to escape.

Produktinformationen

Titel: Unorthodox
Untertitel: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots
Autor:
EAN: 9781439187029
ISBN: 978-1-4391-8702-9
Digitaler Kopierschutz: Adobe-DRM
Format: E-Book (epub)
Herausgeber: Simon + Schuster Inc.
Genre: Geschichte
Anzahl Seiten: 272
Veröffentlichung: 14.02.2012
Jahr: 2012
Untertitel: Englisch
Dateigrösse: 2.1 MB