Willkommen, schön sind Sie da!
Logo Ex Libris

The Book of Isaias

  • E-Book (epub)
  • 256 Seiten
(0) Erste Bewertung abgeben
Bewertungen
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Alle Bewertungen ansehen
**FIRST PLACE for the Best Political/Current Affairs Book, International Latino Book Awards 2017****One of Southern Living's Best... Weiterlesen
E-Books ganz einfach mit der kostenlosen Ex Libris-Reader-App lesen. Hier erhalten Sie Ihren Download-Link.
CHF 20.90
Download steht sofort bereit
Informationen zu E-Books
E-Books eignen sich auch für mobile Geräte (sehen Sie dazu die Anleitungen).
E-Books von Ex Libris sind mit Adobe DRM kopiergeschützt: Erfahren Sie mehr.
Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Beschreibung

**FIRST PLACE for the Best Political/Current Affairs Book, International Latino Book Awards 2017**

**One of Southern Living's Best Books of 2016**

A fast-paced nonfiction narrative that will help you understand today's immigration battles

18-year-old high school senior Isaias Ramos plays in a punk rock group called Los Psychosis and likes to sing along to songs by Bjrk and her old band, the Sugarcubes. He's so bright that when his school's quiz bowl goes on local TV, he acts as captain.

The counselors at school want him to apply to Harvard. But Isaias isn't so sure. He's thinking about going to work painting houses with his parents, who crossed the Arizona desert illegally from Mexico.

Despite the obstacles and his own doubts, Isaias sets out on the journey to become the first in his family to go to college. He faces make-or-break standardized testing, immigration bureaucracy and absurdly high college costs. And most importantly, the siren song of doubt.

This simple story reflects broader truths. Mexican immigration has brought the proportion of Hispanics in the nation's youth population to roughly one in four. Every day, children of immigrants make decisions about their lives that will shape our society and economy for generations.

In the tradition of Friday Night Lights and A Hope in the Unseen, this deeply human narrative offers a powerful antidote to the heated political rhetoric about immigrants and their children.



Autorentext

Daniel Connolly

Produktinformationen

Titel: The Book of Isaias
Untertitel: A Child of Hispanic Immigrants Seeks His Own America
Autor:
EAN: 9781250083074
ISBN: 978-1-250-08307-4
Digitaler Kopierschutz: Adobe-DRM
Format: E-Book (epub)
Herausgeber: St. Martin's Press
Genre: Soziologie
Anzahl Seiten: 256
Veröffentlichung: 04.10.2016
Jahr: 2016
Untertitel: Englisch
Dateigrösse: 2.5 MB
Zuletzt angesehen
Verlauf löschen