📚 Heute ist Welttag des Buches! Zur Feier gibt's zahlreiche Lesepakete zu gewinnen 📚 Auf zur Verlosung 📚
Willkommen, schön sind Sie da!
Logo Ex Libris

The Convictions of John Delahunt

  • E-Book (epub)
  • 352 Seiten
(0) Erste Bewertung abgeben
Bewertungen
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Alle Bewertungen ansehen
Dublin, 1841. On a cold December morning, a small boy is enticed away from his mother and his throat savagely cut. This could be j... Weiterlesen
E-Books ganz einfach mit der kostenlosen Ex Libris-Reader-App lesen. Hier erhalten Sie Ihren Download-Link.
CHF 9.45
Download steht sofort bereit
Informationen zu E-Books
E-Books eignen sich auch für mobile Geräte (sehen Sie dazu die Anleitungen).
E-Books von Ex Libris sind mit Adobe DRM kopiergeschützt: Erfahren Sie mehr.
Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.
Bestellung & Lieferung in eine Filiale möglich

Beschreibung

Dublin, 1841. On a cold December morning, a small boy is enticed away from his mother and his throat savagely cut. This could be just one more small, sad death in a city riven by poverty, inequality and political unrest, but this killing causes a public outcry. For it appears the culprit a feckless student named John Delahunt is also an informant for the authorities at Dublin Castle. And strangely, this young man seems neither to regret what he did nor fear his punishment. Indeed, as he awaits the hangman in his cell in Kilmainham Gaol, John Delahunt decides to tell his story in this, his final, deeply unsettling statement . . .Based on true events that convulsed Victorian Ireland, The Convictions of John Delahunt is the tragic tale of a man who betrays his family, his friends, his society and, ultimately, himself. Set amidst Dublin s taverns, tenements, courtrooms and alleyways and with its rich, Dickensian cast of characters, this compelling, at times darkly humorous, novel brilliantly evokes a time and a place, and introduces a remarkable new literary voice.

Vorwort
Set in Dublin in the 1840s and based on the true story of the murder of a child, this dazzling literary debut - at once a historical novel and crime thriller - will appeal to fans of Andrew Taylor, Andrew Miller and Peter Ackroyd.

Autorentext

Andrew Hughes

Produktinformationen

Titel: The Convictions of John Delahunt
Autor:
EAN: 9781448169771
ISBN: 978-1-4481-6977-1
Digitaler Kopierschutz: Adobe-DRM
Format: E-Book (epub)
Herausgeber: Transworld Publishers
Genre: Historische Romane und Erzählungen
Anzahl Seiten: 352
Veröffentlichung: 12.09.2013
Jahr: 2013
Untertitel: Englisch
Features: Unterstützte Lesegerätegruppen: PC/MAC/eReader/Tablet
Dateigrösse: 2.3 MB